Skip to main content

GIVEAWAY: Gift Set for The Dead Inside by Cyndy Etler



The Dead Inside: a true story
Author: Cyndy Etler
Sourcebooks Fire
On-sale: April 4, 2017
Young Adult, Hardcover
$17.99
Description:
For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler’s gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called “a concentration camp for throwaway kids.”
All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a “drug rehabilitation” facility that changed her world.
To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to “treat” its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered “healing.”

The Author:
Cyndy Etler was homeless at fourteen, summa cum laude at thirty. In her current work as a teacher and teen life coach, Etler happily teaches teens that books work better than drugs. She lives with her husband and dogs in North Carolina. Find her at CyndyEtler.com.





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Phoebe Pope by Nya Jade blog tour

The Year of Four
Nya Jade
(Phoebe Pope, #1)
Publication date: October 28th 2012
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
The students of Green Lane Academy roam their halls unaware that below their manicured campus exists a prestigious school of an entirely different kind . . .
Sixteen-year-old Phoebe Pope has enrolled at the Campus Below: a spy academy for shape-shifters hidden deep beneath the grounds of a boarding school whose humans unknowingly protect it. There, thanks to a carefully planned schedule, she leads a double life: spy trainee Below and normal teenager Above.
As if two course loads, concealing a secret power she alone wields, and coping with her father’s recent death weren’t enough, Phoebe finds herself developing major feelings for actor and teen heartthrob Colten Chase, who attends the Campus Above and appears to be majoring in winning Phoebe’s heart. But when officials learn that Phoebe may be at the center of a startling prophecy, she becomes the target of shape-shifting ass…

POST-HIGH SCHOOL REALITY QUEST blog tour

Post-High School Reality Quest                                                            byMeg Eden                                                  Publisher: Rare Bird Books                                                    Release Date: June 13, 2017                                                          Genre: Young Adult
Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32073224-post-high-school-reality-quest Amazon- https://www.amazon.com/Post-High-School-Reality-Quest/dp/194557223X B&N- https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/post-high-school-reality-quest-meg-eden/1124787341?ean=9781945572234 Book Depository- https://www.bookdepository.com/Post-High-School-Reality-Quest-Meg-Eden/9781945572234 Kobo- https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/post-high-school-reality-quest                                          About the Author Meg Eden's work has been published in various magazines, including Rattle, Drunken Boat, Poet Lore, and Gargoyle. She t…

Understanding the Stars by X. Culletto Review & Giveaway

Understanding the Stars by X. Culletto Publication Date: December 30, 2016

Alexandra Blackwood is minding her own troubled life when she unknowingly gets caught up in an extraterrestrial conflict. Ronan, a human with his own alien-entangled past, has been keeping an eye on her and sets out to help her escape looming abduction, and maybe win her heart.

                                                My Review Alex is just trying to live her ordinary life. Go to school, work and help take care of her father. Then she meets this extremely handsome guy while delivering pizza. She feels a connection to him and she doesn't know why. After meeting him, everything changes. She has to be on the run from aliens that want to kill her. 
The story is faced paced and keeps you wanting to read to see what happens next. The characters are endearing and you want them to end up together. The aliens the author described were also very interesting and I wish we got to see more interaction between the …